Distinguished Alumni Awards Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication

Deadline Extended for Nominating a 2021 ASEC Distinguished Alumni

We will be accepting nominations for 2021 ASEC Distinguished Alumni soon. The deadline for submitting a nomination is Monday, April 19, 2021.
The awards presentation will be Friday, September 24, 2021.

Download a nomination form (PDF)

Successful nominees for the Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication (ASEC) Distinguished Alumni Award will have demonstrated excellence in industry, academia, governmental service, or other career endeavors through their leadership, community service, and professional accomplishments.

Nominees will have earned a B.S., M.S., or Ph.D. degree in Agricultural Communication, Agricultural Education, or the Purdue University Department of Youth Development and Agricultural Education.

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 ASEC Distinguished Alumni Awards:

Photo of Denise Derrer

Denise Derrer (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1990) -Public Information Director for the Indiana State Board of Animal Health.
Photo of Tracie Egger

Dr. Tracie Egger (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1995; Ph.D. Agricultural and Extension Education, 2009) - Leadership Training Specialist for AgReliant Genetics, Westfield, Indiana.

Photo of Andrea Schwartz

Andrea Schwartz (B.S., Agricultural Education, 2006; M.S. Agricultural and Extension Education, 2011) - Dean of the School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering & Applied Science and Associate Professor of Agriculture at Ivy Tech Community College-Lafayette.

The ASEC Distinguished Alumni awards recognize Purdue ASEC alumni who have achieved outstanding accomplishments, made significant contributions to their professions or to society in general, and exhibit high potential for future professional growth.

Previous Award Recipients


Scott Stump Scott Stump (B.S., Agricultural Education, 1990)

Julia A. Wickard Julia A. Wickard (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1993)


Ann CamdenAnn Camden (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1993)

Scott W. JohnsonScott W. Johnson (B.S., Agricultural Education and Agricultural Communication, 1992)


Darrell AllenDarrell Allen (B.S., Agricultural Education,1982; M.S, Agricultural Education,1985)

Allan D. GoeckeAllan D. Goecker (B.S., Agriculture (Agricultural Education), 1964; M.S. , Agricultural Education, 1966) Ph.D., Agricultural Education, 1974


Robert FriarRobert Friar (B.S., Agricultural Education, 1956; M.S. Biological Sciences, 1959; Ph.D. Animal Sciences, 1967)

Eric SteinerEric Steiner (B.S., Agricultural Education, 2002)

Jane Ade StevensJane Ade Stevens (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1976)