Knobloch Named Outstanding Educator

(from left to right: Neil Lnoblock and Roger Tormoehlen)

Dr. Neil Knobloch was honored with the Distinguished Agriculture Teacher Educator Award for the North Central Region from the American Association for Agricultural Education (AAAE) during their conference in October.

The award recognizes Dr. Knobloch's excellence in agricultural teacher education and scholarship.

As Dr. Mark Russell noted in his nomination, Dr. Knobloch "has made outstanding contributions to agricultural education over the last 17 years, which have impacted the quality of life of PK-20 students and teachers by applying scientific principles of learner-centered education to engage in solving grand challenges facing agriculture, food, and natural resources."

Talbert Honored at Indiana ACTE Meeting

(from left to right: Dr Allen Talbert and Brittany Kloer,
ACTE State Parliamentarian)

Dr. Allen Talbert was named the Indiana Association of Career and Technical Education (ACTE) Post-secondary Teacher of the Year at the organization's state conference on September 21, 2019.

ACTE awards recognize excellence and dedication within the field of career and technical education among ACTE members. The Post-secondary Teacher of the Year Award recognizes the finest career and technical teachers at the post-secondary level who have demonstrated innovation in the classroom, commitment to their students, and dedication to the improvement of ACTE in their institutions and communities.


M@P Team Honored

M@P Team

The Mentoring at Purdue (M@P)Team was recognized with the National Land-Grant Diversity Champion Team Award at the National Land-Grant Diversity Conference on February 7. The team was recognized for their exemplary leadership in advancing diversity and inclusion through inclusive programming, cultural competency initiatives, and community outreach activities.

Team members include: Neil Knobloch, Professor; Levon Esters, Associate Professor; Elizabeth Alexander; Brandon Allen; Zachary Brown; Quintana Clark; Torrie Cropps; Ulyssa Hester; Yujie Huang; Ryan Kornegay

Allen Earns Leadership Award

Brandon Allen

Brandon C.M. Allen received the France A. Córdova Award for Leadership in Action. The Ph.D. candidate initiated a water drive for the citizens of Flint, Michigan; a BoilerUp4 Houston campaign after Hurricane Harvey; and another BoilerUp4 campaign after Hurricane Irma hit Florida, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

The award honors graduating students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership during their time at Purdue. The students must have held successful leadership roles, working in partnership with staff and faculty to move the university forward, while maintaining a minimum 3.0 grade point average. The award winners receive a certificate, a cash award and their name inscribed on a plaque.

Teaching Leadership Award Fellows

Sarah LaRose and Hui-Hui Wang were selected as Teaching Leadership Award Fellows by the Purdue Teaching Academy and Center for Instructional Excellence. The award fosters the pursuit of excellence in teaching and the development of teaching leaders. It honors those wo serve as advocates for and champions of student success through teaching.

As part of their work, Drs. LaRose and Wang propose to create intentional opportunities for ASEC faculty to actively engage in the scholarship of teaching and learning. To accomplish this, they plan to coordinate a series of workshops and group sessions that focus on helping faculty reach these goals.

2018 Emerging Faculty Impact Award

Dr Hui-Hui Wang

Hui-Hui Wang received the 2018 Emerging Faculty Impact Award from the College of Agriculture PK-12 Council.

Wang, an assistant professor of agricultural STEM Education, was honored for her efforts to effectively collaborate with faculty in the colleges of Agriculture, Science, Education, and Engineering. She has developed three curricula to engage PK-12 audiences and trained Purdue Master Gardeners and high school teachers in curricula.

She co-developed a new graduate studies course that instructs students how to teach integrated STEM through agriculture, food, and natural resources. Those students developed and implemented lessons at YMCA afterschool programs and for local Girl Scout troops. Across classrooms, communities, and colleagues, Dr. Wang is a rising advocate of advancing STEM education.


ASEC Honors

ASEC awarded faculty and staff with departmental awards.
Outstanding Counselor Award: Mark Tucker
Early Career Teaching Award: Linda Pfeiffer
Graduate Mentor/Teacher: Levon Esters
Outstanding Teaching Award: Kathryn Orvis
Outstanding Service to Students: Amy Conrad

Fredrick L. Hovde Award

Dr Natalie Carroll

Natalie Carroll was presented with the 2018 Frederick L. Hovde Award of Excellence, which honors a faculty or staff member who has displayed outstanding educational service to rural Indiana.

"Rural communities are the foundation of our state, and service to those communities is the foundation of Purdue," said Karen Plaut, chair of the Hovde Award committee and Glenn W. Sample Dean of Purdue Agriculture.

Carroll was recognized for her more than two decades of work with Indiana youth through 4-H and FFA. She has been instrumental in developing 4-H curricula across ten project areas related to natural resources, including entomology, forestry and geology.

Book of Great Teachers

Dr Allen Talbert

Dr. Allen Talbert was one of 45 professors inducted into Purdue's Book of Great Teachers in December.

The Book of Great Teachers honors outstanding teaching faculty who have demonstrated sustained excellence in the classroom.

"The Book of Great Teachers honors the very best of our Purdue educators and underscores our commitment to teaching excellence," said Jay Akridge, Purdue provost. ""We are grateful to the faculty members inducted this year — and in years past — for their devotion to our students, and we thank them on behalf of the countless lives they have influenced through their wisdom and guidance."


National Experiment Station Section's Inaugural Diversity and Inclusion Award

Dr Allen Talbert

Dr. Levon Esters and Dr. Neil Knobloch accepted the National Experiment Station Section's inaugural Diversity and Inclusion Award on behalf of every member of the M@P team.

Mentoring@Purdue (M@P) activities attract not only students, but also faculty and staff members to their many workshops.

"M@P is making a real difference in the College's conversations around diversity and inclusion. It is a model of an effective program and I am glad it is getting the national recognition it deserves as well as the opportunity to help others develop similar programs."
— Karen Plaut, Glenn W. Sample Dean of Agriculture